NAATBatt 2022


DAY 1- Monday, February 7, 2022

1:00 p.m.


Location: Gold Course

2:30 p.m.


Location: Tennis Center

7:00-9:30 p.m.

Tournament Dinner

Location: Trellis Garden

DAY 2- Tuesday, February 8, 2022

7:30 a.m.

Registration Opens

7:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Exhibit Floor Set up

Location: Mohave Ballroom

8:00- 9:00 a.m.

Battery Recycling Committee

Location: Palo Verde Room

9:00-10:00 a.m.

Policy & Regulatory Committee Meeting

Location: Palo Verde Room

9:00-11:00 a.m.

Shmuel de Leon Battery Safety Tutorial

Location: Ozanne Room

10:00-11:00 a.m.

Manufacturing in North America Committee Meeting

Location: Palo Verde Room

11:00-11:45 a.m.

Second Life Battery Subcommittee Meeting

Location: Palo Verde Room

11:45-12:30 p.m.

Zinc Battery Committee Meeting

Location: Ozanne Room

11:45-12:30 p.m.

Tracking and Tracing Battery Subcommittee

Location: Ozanne Room

1:00- 1:10 p.m.

Welcome by Executive Director and President of NAATBatt

James Greenberger
NAATBatt International

Jeff Yambrick

1:10-1:30 p.m.

Report of the Chief Science Officer of NAATBatt

Dr. Stanley Whittingham
SUNY Binghamton

1:30-1:50 p.m.

Report of the Chief Technology Officer of NAATBatt

Robert Galyen
Galyen Energy

1:50-2:10 p.m.

Market Report: EV Markets in North America

Corey Cantor

2:10-2:30 p.m.

Market Report: ESS Markets in North America

Dan Shreve
Wood Mackenzie Power & Renewables

2:30-2:50 p.m.

Market Report: Cell, Pack and Electrode Manufacturing in North America

Michael Sanders
Avicenne Energy

2:50-3:30 p.m.

Networking Break and Opening of the NAATBatt 2022 Battery Products Expo

Location: Mohave Ballroom

3:30-3:50 p.m.

Market Report: Micro-Mobility and Other Specialty Markets

Ben Campbell

3:50-4:10 p.m.

Market Report: Beyond Today’s Lithium-Ion Batteries — What’s Next

Shmuel de Leon
Shmuel De-Leon Energy, Ltd.

4:10-5:45 p.m.

Member Update Presentations: Session 1 (Upstream Companies)

Lithium Americas
Electra Battery Materials
Forge Nano
Albemarle Corporation
Cabot Corporation
Piedmont Lithium
Birla Carbon
Amsted Graphite Materials
Impossible Mining
International Zinc Association
Nanoramic Laboratories
Battery Innovation Center
NSL Analytical Services
Energy Assurance
The Metals Company
Westwater Resources
Ten-Nine Technologies
Solva Inc.

6:00-7:00 p.m.

Opening Reception

Location: Mohave Ballroom

7:00-9:30 p.m.

Opening Dinner

Location: Wigwam Lawn

7:15-9:30 p.m.

Board of Directors Meeting and Dinner

DAY 3- Wednesday, February 9, 2022

7:30 – 08:30 a.m.

Continental Breakfast

Breakfast Discussion Table #1

Battery Recycling: Markets and Technology
Discussion Leader: Battery Resourcers

Breakfast Discussion Table #2

Making Stationary Energy Storage Safer
Discussion Leader: Salt River Project

Breakfast Discussion Table #3

Strategies for Building a North American Supply Chain for Lithium-Based Batteries
Discussion Leader: Forge Nano

Breakfast Discussion Table #4

Innovations in Battery Manufacturing Technology
Discussion Leader:

8:30-8:35 a.m.

Welcome by the Chairman of NAATBatt

Joern Tinnemeyer

8:35-8:45 a.m.

NAATBatt Annual Members Meeting

James Greenberger
NAATBatt International

8:45-9:35 a.m.

Will Upstream Supply Constraints Hamper the Growth of Lithium-Ion Battery Manufacturing in North America?

Ken Hoffman
McKinsey & Company

Eddie Sugar
EAS Advisors

Austin Devaney
Piedmont Lithium

9:35-10:35 a.m.

Meet the Finalists: The U.S. Department of Energy Battery Recycling Prize Phase III

Introduced by: National Renewable Energy Laboratory

The Finalists:
Li Industries
OnTo Technology
Powering the Future
Titan Advanced Energy Solutions

10:35-11:00 a.m.

Networking Break

Sponsor:  U.S. Department of Energy Battery Recycling Prize Phase III

11:00-12:40 p.m.

Member Update Presentations: Session 2 (Midstream Companies)

Airgas, an Air Liquide company
Dukosi, Inc.
EnPower, Inc.
Digatron Power Electronics
Inventus Power
TE Connectivity
Navitas Systems
Alionyx Energy Systems Inc.
American Battery Factory, Inc.
Kautex Textron GmbH & Co. KG
Manz USA, Inc.
Modular Battery Technologies
Moses Lake Industries Inc.
AEsir Technology, Inc.
Denkai America

12:40-2:10 p.m.


2:10-2:45 p.m.

Li-Bridge: An Overview

2:45-4:15 p.m.

Member Update Presentations: Session 3 (Midstream Companies)

Hitachi America Ltd
Indie Power Systems
Soteria Battery Innovation Group
Siemans Digital Industries
A&D Technology
GFL Americas
American Battery Solutions
American Battery Technology Company
Armor Group
Daikin America
Durr Megtec
EaglePicher Technologies
Evozyne, Inc.
Sion Power
eJoule Inc
Air Products
Galyen Energy

4:15-4:40 p.m.

Networking Break

4:40-5:40 p.m.

Annual Competition: Top Ten New Battery Companies of 2022

Sponsored by:  Pray & Company

This year’s winners/presenters:

AM Batteries
Ascend Elements
LiCAP Technologies
South 8 Technologies
Solid Power
Pure Lithium
OnTo Technologies

6:00-7:00 p.m.

Networking Reception

7:45-8:30 p.m.

NAATBatt Annual Dinner

Location: Hopi/Pima/Pueblo Room

8:30-8:50 p.m.

Keynote Speaker

Kelly Speakes-Backman
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary
U.S. Department of Energy
Office of EERE

8:50-9:10 p.m.

Lifetime Achievement Award Presentations

2022 Award Winners:

Anthony Modafferi
Subash Dhar

DAY 4 Thursday, February 10, 2022

7:30 – 8:30 a.m.

Continental Breakfast

Breakfast Discussion Table #1

Site Selection for Battery Manufacturing Projects
Discussion Leader: AEP

Breakfast Discussion Table #2

Making Battery Cells and Packs Safer
Discussion Leader: Soteria Battery Innovation Group

Breakfast Discussion Table #3

Next Generation Battery Technologies
Discussion Leader: Blue Solutions

Breakfast Discussion Table #4

Sustainability Strategies for the Advanced Battery Industry
Discussion Leader: Amphenol Thermometrics

8:30-8:35 a.m.

Welcome by President-Elect of NAATBatt

Renata Arsenault
Ford Motor Company

8:35-9:35 a.m.

Raising Capital in the Battery Industry: SPAC’s, IPO’s and Private Equity

Moderator: Brian Morin, Soteria Battery Innovation Group

Joshua Li

David Roberts
Project Energy Reimagined Acquisition Corp.

Libby Wayman
Breakthrough Energy Ventures

Kevin Dahlberg
3CR – Riverbend Capital Advisors, LLC

9:35-11:10 a.m.

Member Update Presentations: Session 4 (Downstream Companies)

Arizona Public Service
CSA Group
Busch Vacuum Solutions
Blue Solutions
Alabama Power Company
Duke Energy
General Motors
Volkswagen Group of America
Electric Applications Incorporated
2nd Life
Hotstart Thermal Management
Indiana Economic Development Corporation
Battery Streak
Schenck Process
Snell & Wilmer
Abel + Imray

11:10-11:40 a.m.

Networking Break

11:40-12:30 p.m.

Controlling Lithium Battery Fire Propagation: New Strategies

Judy Jeervarajan

Brian Engle
Amphenol Thermometrics

Sharon Bonesteel
Salt River Project

12:30-1:45 p.m.


Location: Wigwam Lawn

1:45-3:15 p.m.

Member Update Presentations: Session 5 (Downstream Companies)

Pray & Company
Titan Advanced Energy Solutions
DCS USA Corporation
Lithion Recycling inc.
Retriev Technologies
Spiers New Technologies Inc
Global Battery Solutions
Automotive Recyclers Association
Terrapure Environmental
Interstate Batteries Recycling, LLC
Call2Recycle, Inc.
I.T. Asset Partners, Inc.
Sandia National Laboratories

3:30-05:30 p.m.

Tour of Salt River Project ESS Facility (optional)


5:45-6:45 p.m.

Closing Reception

Location: Trellis Garden